Vijaya Gowrisankar's Realm

Life – Some Thoughts

See-saw of emotions, poem by Vijaya Gowrisankar (LOST AND FOUND Poetry and Prose Series)

Leave a comment

My poem See-saw of emotions, published in Silver Birch Press, on the LOST and FOUND series. #gratitude

Silver Birch Press

earring1See-saw of emotions
by Vijaya Gowrisankar

The lunch bell gong! We gobbled our lunch
and ran down from the first floor to the
playground, as fast as we could

Our small legs, all of seven years, was ready
for exercise, as we decided to play catch-catch
After ten minutes, we huffed and puffed

We stood holding our stomach, to catch our breath
My classmate looked at me and asked “Where is
your other earring?” I looked at her, blank

She pointed to my left ear. I realized that my
earring was missing. My first expensive present,
the loops of gold, I had received on my birthday

last week. My mother’s words rang in my ear
“Be careful, and touch your ear often to ensure
your earring is there”. Twin tears, big ones

rolled down my cheeks. My friends consoled me
and we started our search. I had checked my ears

View original post 229 more words

Author: Vijaya Gowrisankar

I am passionate about poetry. The freedom to express a thought in as many lines or form that I choose, to create something that each person can 'personalize and visualize differently' - poetry, is truly an art to enjoy and cherish.

Leave a Reply

